We migrated this Community to a Facebook Group to provide you a better overall experience. Click here and join now!

Gravatar
Ross Mac
I have been trying out harmonic mixing for a while now but I'm no expert. was just wondering if there are any other compatibilities apart from... 1 up 1 down or the same keycode? And where does bpm come into it? for example if I mixed an 8A into a 9A but the 8A was at 128bpm and the 9A was at 125bbm. So obviously I would have to speed up the 9A to beatmatch them... would this still work? Or would the key be altered and they would clash? A few tips would be cool... cheers! Ross Mac
Gravatar
Chad (MIK Mod)
Hi Ross, Thanks for posting, I am happy to help. To get you started, you can read about how tempo affects pitch here. I'll post my chart for all possible harmonic mixes tomorrow morning, it's getting late and I don't have it online yet. Cheers, Chad P
Gravatar
Ross Mac
Thanks that helped a lot... look forward to seeing the chart Cheers Ross Mac
Gravatar
Chad (MIK Mod)
Ok, so here's the promised mixing compatibility chart. Starting on the left you've got your basic harmonic mixes, then energy boost and modulation mixes, and finally the less common major and minor thirds. This is all based on music theory. If you look closely, you will actually see that based on JUST THE ROOT NOTE OF THE SCALE almost every key mixes with almost every other key. We know that in reality this is just not the case. You should be able to use this as a general guideline for experimentation, knowing that not all of these will work for every combination of songs. Vocals especially seem to make some of the less common mixes clash. The semitone and 2 semitone mixes will usually sound best for quick cuts, long blends will typically not sound good. Please let me know what you think, especially about some of the mixes on the right of the chart. Mix Chart Cheers, Chad P
Gravatar
Ross Mac